On Saturday night, March 3rd, the 2017 Annual Five Mile Point Speedway Awards Dinner took place at the Claude Garrison Memorial, American Legion Post 1645 in Binghamton.

Congrats to Kevin Bates who won the big award of the night as the Modified Track Champion. Bates won his first ever title with three feature wins.

Here are other winners from the event:

For the second straight year, Kyle Rohner was honored as the Crate Sportsman Track champion. He had 3 feature wins and was the winner of the season ending "Great Crate Race" for the second straight season. He is joining up with a different team next year and will be racing at Middletown Speedway.

Doug Polhamus won his first Street Stock Track Championship. Nick Kennedy was honored as the Lightning Cat expert with Eric Beach being introduced as the Factory Stock Track Champion.

For the third straight season, Dalton Maynard wins the Slingshot Track Championship with Brian Salmini taking the Lightning Cat Novice Track Championship. Kenny Underwood was honored as the Front Wheel Drive Four Cylinder Fantastic Five Champion.

The annual "Head of the Class" Award was presented to Rick Lunn. This award is given to the driver that best demonstrates sportsmanship and a positive presence at the track. Go here to see the rest of the winners.

The 2018 season is almost here with the season starting at the end of the month, Saturday, March 31st. This year, there will be a new clay surface and many new teams plan on making Five Mile Point their weekly home. To keep up with all the latest news, go here.


More From 98.1 The Hawk