I remember back in the day (yes, I'm getting old) when motorists in New York State pretty much had just one license plate design. Today, there are three main designs to be found on vehicles.

98.1 The Hawk logo
Get our free mobile app

If I remember correctly, for a long time, you had to surrender your current plates when the registration time came, if a new plate design had come out. Not now.

The three main plates you'll see are the Liberty plates which came out in 1986 to 2000, the Empire Gold plates which came on the scene from 2010 to 2020, and the latest edition which is the Excelsior plates first released in 2020.

Now, the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles has come out with regional license plates as well, including the Southern Tier Region featuring a picture of the waterfall at the Watkins Glen State Park in Watkins Glen, New York.

These other regions are highlighted as well according to their website:

Upstate New York Regions

Downstate New York Regions

All New York State Regions

Of course, there are other variations as well from several categories according to the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles website:

In addition, there are historical and vintage plates, and personalized plates where you can add your message or praise or name, depending on the availability and whether or not it is appropriate.

For more information on all New York State License plates, visit the NYS DMV website.

Getaway In A Barn

Getaway In A Barn

Binghamton Historic Places

Binghamton Historic Places


More From 98.1 The Hawk