You could be fined up to $2,000 for violating New York's PAUSE order.

 

Enter your number to get our free mobile app

More: New York to Extend Deadline for Motor Vehicle Inspections

A first-time violation could set you back up to $2,000 or up $5,000 if you don't learn the first time. According to WGRZ, Erie County Executive Mark Poloncarz made the announcement on Sunday (April 6). The violation falls under New York State Health Law.

More: Two WNY Bars Shut Down for Not Obeying Takeout-Only Policy

"If there are people ignoring the social distancing standards at parks, if they're using the shelter and there's 20 people there and kids running around, you should get a ticket because you're all at risk of spreading it, and who knows who gets it then?" ~ Erie County Executive Mark Poloncarz via WGRZ

If a business violates the PAUSE order, they could be charged with a criminal misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $10,000 and/or a year in jail.