Three counties in the Southern Tier have now declared states of emergency in the span of a day.

Following declarations from Tioga and Broome Counties, Tina Mole, Chairman of the Delaware County Board of Supervisors, declared a state of emergency for the county. The release was posted on the Delaware County Department of Emergency Services Facebook Page. This comes after officials say there is one confirmed case of coronavirus in the county.

All public schools in Delaware County are now closed as part of the order, with the exception of administrative and staff functions. The closure runs from March 18 to April 14 unless otherwise revoked, but it could also be extended.

The county's Office for the Aging Senior Meal sites and Senior Transit will not operate until April 14, unless the order is lifted sooner.

98.1 The Hawk logo
Enter your number to get our free mobile app

County officials advise those who think they may have coronavirus symptoms to get in touch with their primary care provider, and only go to the emergency room if it is serious.

For more information, the county lists the following links:

More From 98.1 The Hawk