Section 4 has been at the top of New York State High School softball competition for a number of years.  Six standouts with Section 4 roots are being honored with induction into the New York State High School Softball Hall of Fame Class of 2021.  Induction ceremonies are set for the Hall of Fame Pavilion in Herkimer next Spring.

Current Binghamton University Head Softball Coach Michelle Burrell Johnston is one of those slated for induction. She starred for Owego High School where she was a Class B All-State selection for four seasons and then went on to set records at the University of Maryland where she was a Regional All-American.  As the Bearcats' head coach her teams have won 240 games in 11 seasons, the most softball wins of any coach at the school.

Bridget Baxter Orchard current head coach at Villanova University is also set for induction.  She starred for Binghamton High School where she was a Class AA First-Team All-State performer before heading to Villanova to play where she earned First Team All-Big East honors.  After 17 seasons as Fordham's head coach she returned to Villanova where she has spent the past two seasons.

In addition Section 4 honorees include:

Kristin Waldron from Windsor who earned Class B All-State Player of the Year and was a First Team All-State selection for four seasons..

Nicole Osovski from Maine-Endwell who was a Class A First Team All-State honoree five times.

Cindy Bostelman who has led Afton softball teams to six state titles.

Steve Weber who coached Elmira Notre Dame softball for 24 seasons amassing 450 victories.

Congratulations to all honorees.

***Information compiled as reported by: Andrew Legare from the Elmira Star-Gazette and Pressconnects; David O'Brian, Binghamton University Sports Information,

WNBF News/ Roger Neel Photo
WNBF News/ Roger Neel Photo

Villanova University Sports Information and NYSPHSAA.

More From 98.1 The Hawk