Tonight Five Mile Point Speedway will host the 49th running of the Heath Memorial for Modifieds and honor the Track Founders.

The Nagel family will make history becoming the first ever three generation family to race in the same event at the track.  Carl Nagel a two time winner of the Heath Memorial and is a Hall of Fame Member in the DirtCar Hall of Fame.  He's making his first start of the year.  His son Mike and grandson Mike Nagel, Jr. will also be attempting to qualify for the 49th edition of the event.

There'll also be many former drivers coming from all over the US to be part of the Racer’s Reunion.  They will return to the Southern Tier to be honored in front of the fans.  The drivers gather and tell stories and share memories from years past.  One former Mini Stock driver Jim LaCoy will make the trip from his home in Florida just for this event.

There will be a number of antique race cars on display throughout the evening as well.  Many of the cars competed at the speedway and have been restored to the way they looked back when they raced in the 50’s, 60’s, 70’s and 80’s.

Former Heath Memorial Race Winners: 1965 DeForest Chalker, 1966 Larry Groover, 1967 Red Harrington, 1968 Lester Greene, 1969 Norm Norton, 1970 Stan Ploski, 1971 Dave Kneisel, 1972 Chuck Akulis, 1973 Dave Kneisel, 1974 Dave Kneisel, 1975 Kenny Moore, 1976 Carl Nagel, 1977 Norm Norton, 1978 Don Slack, 1979 Kerry Schloder, 1980 Bernie Griffin and Carl Reynolds, 1981 Chuck Akulis, 1982 Chuck Akulis, 1983 Don Slack, 1984 Carl Nagel, 1985 Chuck Akulis, 1986 Carl Nagel, 1987 Dick Sundgren, 1988 Mark Terry, 1989 Dave Doig, 1990 Mike Colsten, 1991 Mike Colsten, 1992 Chuck Akulis, 1993 Doug Worthing, 1994 Mike Colsten, 1995 Chuck Akulis, 1996 Chuck Akulis, 1997 Mike Clapperton, 1998 Jim Crawn (fellow Northeast Bradford alum with me in 1982), 1999 Tim French, 2000 Eddie White, 2001 Mitch Gibbs, 2002 Mitch Gibbs, 2003 Dan Vauter, 2004 Don Hart Jr., 2005 Gary Griffin, 2006 Mitch Gibbs, 2007 Stewart Friesen, 2008 Joey Grammes, 2009 Jerry Higbie Jr., 2010 Stewart Friesen, 2011 Stewart Friesen, 2012 Brian Weaver.

Race time is at 6.  To find out more about the Heath Memorial Race tonight go here.